Main Page - You Are Here
Novels and Bookstore
Uplift Universe
Artwork Contributions

David Brin's Site

Artwork by Wayne D. Barlowe from The Uplift War
The Works of
David Brin

Novel Year Awards
Startide Rising1983Hugo, Nebula & Locus Awards
The Practice Effect1984 
The Postman1985Locus & John W. Campbell Awards
Hugo & Nebula Nominee
River of Time (Anthology)1986 
Heart of the Comet
(w/ Gregory Benford)
The Uplift War1987Hugo & Locus Awards
Nebula Nominee
Earth1990Hugo Nominee
Glory Season1993Hugo Nominee
Otherness (Anthology)1994Locus Award
Brightness Reef1995Uplift Trilogy 1 - Hugo Nominee
Infinity's Shore1996Uplift Trilogy 2
Transparent Society1998Non-Fiction
Heaven's Reach1998Uplift Trilogy 3
Foundation's Triumph1999Second Foundation Trilogy III
Kiln People2001 

Biographical Information
Brin has lectured worldwide on topics as diverse as Ecology, Information Technology, Twenty-first Century extrapolation, Spaceflight, and the Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligent Life. He serves on government and non-government advisory committees dealing with the future "information age".

David Brin's second novel, Startide Rising, won the prestigious Hugo, Nebula and Locus awards in 1983. A Hugo-winning short story, "The Crystal Spheres," is featured in his collection, The River of Time. A later novel, The Postman, received the John W. Campbell Award and the Locus Award, and was a Nebula and Hugo finalist. The Postman also won commendation from the American Library Association, and was release in 1997 as a large-scale epic film, directed by (and starring) Kevin Costner, under the auspices of Warner Brothers Inc.

Heart of the Comet, Brin's collaboration with noted novelist and physicist Gregory Benford, won rave reviews as a spellbinding blend of speculative science and dramatic fiction. The Uplift War, a 1987 novel, was a New York Times best-seller and recipient of that year's Hugo and Locus Awards. Sundiver, Brin's first novel is still in print with a cult following for this "hi-tech murder mystery." Another story and essay collection titled Otherness explores speculations about the near future and some strange but believable directions society may be heading. It won the '95 Locus Award for best single author collection.

David Brin's ecological thriller, Earth, deals on a wide scope with both the danger and hope lying in wait for this oasis world of ours. Global warming, pollution, and destruction of the ozone layer are topics which drew considerable attention from both scientists and the environmental movement, as well as the most highly regarded depiction, to-date, of tomorrow's information superhighway. It has become a cult classic among those designing data pathways to lace every city around the globe, it appears on several bestseller lists, and has been film-optioned. Brin's 1993 novel, and another Hugo nominee, Glory Season, tells the adventures of Maia, a sixteen year old finding her way in a world where sexual politics have radically changed. Called by one critic "a female Huckleberry Finn," Glory Season, is about the possible role of biology in destiny and the strivings of a determined young person to overcome the limitations of both.

A new "Uplift" series, begun with Brightness Reef (a Hugo nominee in '96) and followed by Infinity's Shore, is being published by Bantam Doubleday Books. The third chapter, Heaven's Reach, will be released by Bantam in fall of 1997. Brin has also completed, at the request of the Asimov Estate, the final volume of the Second Foundation Trilogy, continuing the adventures of Hari Seldon, in Isaac Asimov's famous universe. (Books One and Two are being authored by Gregory Benford and Greg Bear.)

Brin's first non-fiction book, The Transparent Society, published by Perseus/Addison Wesley Inc. in 1998 deals with contemporary concerns about privacy, accountability and secrecy in the world of the coming century.

As part of his concern to ensure that young readers get the best possible bridge to a lifetime habit of reading, Brin has developed a new series of novels, the OUT OF TIME series, about high schoolers from our era who get yanked into the future to solve problems and teach their descendants courage -- before being put back in time for classes the next day. The first few volumes of this exciting and yet thoughtful series were penned by Nancy Kress, Sheila Finch and Roger MacBride Allen.

David Brin's wife, Cheryl Brigham, is also a scientist. They have a young daughter and two sons. Brin speaks before many groups and schools, sharing his passionate enthusiasm for the future. His novels have been translated into twenty languages and non-fiction articles have appeared in many magazines. Claiming to be -- "in love with this amazing, scary, fascinating century"-- David Brin makes extensive use of his scientific training in his writing, bringing to his novels an intense passion for the exploration of ideas, and the human spirit.

"I think it's an author's duty to inform, delight, inspire but above all to entertain and be fair with the reader. To share a little excitement for some of the danger, possibility,and wonder the future holds."

Biography contributed by David Brin
April 1999

Check out my pages dedicated to Julian May's Pliocene and Milieu Sagas

Please e-mail me with any contributions, compliments or complaints at:
Stewart Blandón